Eirgrid North-South Interconnector Pylons

The Meath Independent Technical Group lodged a submission with An Bord Pleanala regarding the North-South 400KV Interconnector (Ref:02VA0017)

We the Independent Technical Group of Meath County Council wish to lodge an objection to the application for the North-South 400KV Interconnector (Ref:02VA0017).

Our objection is not to the increase in capacity but to the visual, economic and possible health impact on the county of Meath by the deployment of the lines over-ground.

We request that the application to place the lines over-ground be refused in favour of a new application for the undergrounding of lines as is best practice in progressive countries.

Meath County Council Independent Technical Group
Cllr. Francis Deane (Navan)
Cllr. Brian Fitzgerald (Ratoath)
Cllr. David Gilroy (Kells)
Cllr. Trevor Golden (Trim MD)
Cllr. Tom Kelly (Laytown-Bettystown)
Cllr. Sharon Keogan (Laytown-Bettystown)
Cllr. Nick Killian (Ratoath)